November 4, 2013

  • Doctor J, 2.0

    Anonymity is both blessing and curse.  On the one hand, with none of my potential readership knowing me, I am safe to portray or invent myself however I chose. Yet even if the online me isnt a partial or total fabrication, how much of the real life me gets left behind.

    The last decade of blogging has been devoted to my medical exploits. The years before that to my exploration of the internet and what amused me as I began to develop my own writing style. As Josh 2.0 continues to develop, it’s a bit daunting and humbling to realize just how true that 24 hour people byline has become. I have a dedicated persona people have come to expect here, though I feel like I have totally lost touch with that aspect of myself in recent times.

    So for a while, to avoid any potential obstacles with my new employers while I establish myself, it’s time to drift away from the medical blogging. I’m no longer an idealistic med student blogging my journey of self discovery. Neither am I an established physician and science blogger like KevinMD or DrGrumpy. In point of fact, I’m not entirely sure who I am anymore, and in the months to come, I am returning to writing to try and figure it out.

    So as always bear with me as I undergo some personal construction. Although I may still comment on my medical life, it’s time to shift the focus of this blog to some questions of philosophy and self discovery.  A bit of a regression as the prodigal son returns to the midwest and sets out to accomplish one cool thing every weekend, to resume online conversations with fellow bloggers of like intellectual pursuits and gets on with the pursuit of life, liberty and happiness.

    Dont worry though, deep down I remain deplorably, adorably immature. I just have to figure out what shell to pull over this creamy nougat center.

    Turning in the virtual pager after a looong call,

    Doctor J

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *