September 24, 2007

  • All in the Family

    Well the first day of family medicine has passed relatively uneventfully, and I have this to say:

    After ED, Family Medicine is a romantic getaway. My hours are 8-5:30 with a lunch break (okay, drug rep sponsored noon conference, but still! time to sit down! and eat!) and WEEKENDS OFF

    ZOMG Ponies! I have weekends again. I dont even know what to do with them.

    But you people dont come to this site for that. You come here for…well actually, I am not really sure what you come here for..

    Is it to hear about the fact that even in family medicine there are drug seeking patients, like a woman who complains of chronic back pain but when she is told to stretch and lose weight instead of getting the expected refill of her vicodin gets a momentary dismayed look on her face?

    Is it to see children coming in for vaccinations who are just beginning to garner the fear of doctors what is referred to in professional circles as “white coat syndrome”

    Or maybe its to read about physicians who actually geniunenly seem to care about the patients entire well being instead of just treating the condition. Like the resident I worked with today who spent an HMO breaking 20 minutes with a patient just convinving her to make amends with her parents so she would have a support system to raise her child and could be strong for, even going so far as to offer to speak to both the parents in Farsi and be an instrument of reconciliation. After all, according to him…for parents, children are the walnuts, the hard outer shell, but grandchildren are the treasure inside no one can resist

    You dont see that in ER…or at least I didnt.

    The specialty of Family Med in the healthcare world is kinda like being the kid picked last for the team. Everyone acknowledges you need the kid to make the teams even, but at the same time it is looked down upon, because Family Practitioners dont have a specialized body of knowledge found in most of the other fields. Jack of all trades, master of none, so the saying goes.

    Coming into this field, it was not originally something I thought I would want to do…then again, given that I was pretty sure i wanted ER when I got into medical school, I am doing my best to keep an open mind and see how this all works out.

    In the meantime folks, I always appreciate your comments and suggestions…what would you like to see more of here? My random ramblings on 3rd year? Medically themed comics? Something entirely different with more random links like my old style of writing? I eagerly await your response

    And now a few helloes to my internet family, something I will hopefully be doing every post for the next month. Want in? Just leave me a comment or let me see you show up in footprints!

    Rainy: yes I am cooking greek food again
    Swtlilkathy: Happy 21st!
    Y2KenH: now that you know your power, will it be for good? or evil? and tell andysensei to contact me!
    InitialDean: yarr matey, always a pleasure hearing from you on TLAPD. Hope all be well
    Dangit: Halo3 is coming-can you feel the excitement?

    And Non-Contextual Quotation of the Day:

    semilunar V (11:15:14 PM): on the minus side,
    semilunar V (11:15:17 PM): (1) ob/gyn
    semilunar V (11:15:26 PM): (2) ob/gyn with four other girls
    semilunar V (11:15:31 PM): (3) ob/gyn for six weeks
    semilunar V (11:16:02 PM): i started reading through blueprints yesterday at borders on michigan
    semilunar V (11:18:51 PM): then i got into the pages with pictures
    semilunar V (11:18:54 PM): it’s a really weird feeling
    semilunar V (11:19:03 PM): sitting in a public place surrounded by people
    semilunar V (11:19:32 PM): staring at photographs of the pathological vagina

Comments (4)

  • Just keep writing.  I love reading your posts!

  • I like it all too :0) I can relate to a lot of what you’re seeing so it makes it even funnier… My current rotation has been crazy (ahem, I’m doing psych at the County hospital).  Yay crazies!

  • hooray for family medicine (well, for you at least)! boo for us?

    oh. i have a work assignment in chicago oct 19-21. mmhmm mhmmm!

  • How about a little of everything? In my case, I’ll be reading your posts, conversations, thoughts, comics, etc. They are all well appreciated. This is your blog. :0)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *