April 16, 2008

  • It’s on


    Okay, no, that hasnt happened to me yet.

    But the 4 year old sister of a patient came over and tugged at my coat while i was filling out paperwork in the hallway. I smiled at her and asked, yes?

    She responded: “I’m going to save the world, you know.”

    I said, “Oh, really? That’s awesome. How are you going to do that?”

    She
    looks both ways in the hall to make sure no one’s coming, and then she
    leans close and tells me, “…I have superpowers. But you can’t tell
    anyone because you’ll give away my secret identity. Shhhh.”

    It totally made me remember that tv show, my secret identity? No? I didnt think you did…i am the master of obscure 80′s TV shows

    Did you know it was Jerry O Connell as the star of that show? I certainly did not. In an amazing coincidence, I have been getting my Sliders fix in lately, Jerry’s breakout obscure 90′s show. Gosh I love my obscure TV.

    And because I havent been inappropriate at work lately, while I was sitting in the office doing yet more paperwork, i saw a little hispanic boy go running down the hall. This is not unusual as kids are usually running around the clinic. Once I saw him go by, the next thing I heard was a parent calling out in a thick spanish accent

    “Marco!”

    I couldn’t help myself. “Polo” I said out loud. Which caused the kid to turn around briefly, but thankfully none of the other attendings was in the room. BUt cmon, what a setup!

Comments (2)

  • You are funny!  I like your sense of humor, the day goes by easier and happier! 

  • MARCO!!! (I’m catching up with your blog). I have had students dress up in costume and stay in character for hours. It’s interesting at first and somewhat weird by the end of the day. Remember Toy Story? There was one kid who **became** Buzz Lightyear and would not answer to his name, but only to Buzz.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *