September 7, 2008

  • Personal Statement 1 for the money

    I would GREATLY appreciate your feedback on my personal statement for internal medicine. This is only a first draft, so any criticism on it is helpful. That is to say, if you read this at all, please leave a comment with your thoughts on how it could be improved or even just the gestalt you get from it. That said, here we go


    I have always loved detective stories.
    The trained observer arriving at the scene of the crime, unable to
    prevent the incident, but possibly capable of unraveling the mystery.
    How one seemingly innocuous clue, one insignificant detail becomes
    the linchpin to the whole case. How nothing more than wits and
    determination transform a rather ordinary Joe into the framework of
    an extraordinary adventure.

    The trained physician, much like the
    trained detective must learn to use all of his senses above and
    beyond the normal. We auscultate heart and lungs, We peer both
    superficially with our eyes, and deeply with our machines, we smell
    illness from lesions, we feel irregularities in bone structure or
    rectal tone, and back in the day, some even used to taste urine,
    though that is one mystery I am personally glad to leave unsolved.

    When I began my third year of medical
    school, I was the Watson to the hospital’s Holmes. I could only
    observe in astonishment as the resident or attending would piece
    together unrelated symptoms and complaints into a diagnosis, often
    within minutes, while i struggled to come to a conclusion with the
    same basic information.

    Like Watson though, as time wore on, I
    began to follow the reasoning and even pick up on clues myself.
    During my rotation in internal medicine, my team had a patient who
    had presented with a sudden onset of fever beginning one week
    earlier, myalgia and abdominal pain. While all initial signs pointed
    to influenza, my history revealed that the patient had recently
    traveled to Venezuela to visit family. That piece of knowledge helped
    lead my team to discover the real culprit was dengue fever, and the
    patient quickly recovered. The thrill in solving the case stuck with
    me, and with each successive patient my ability to create
    differentials and perform the clinical reasoning process improves.

    Internal medicine holds the greatest
    appeal to me as a field due to its sheer variety. The internist is
    the doctor’s doctor, the archetype conjured by the word a figure who
    through careful questioning teases out the problem and then provides
    the solution. The internist not only helps to identify the main
    problem, but often coordinates care between different teams such as
    surgery or social work. Additionally, the number of sub-specialties
    available provide near-limitless opportunity for the physician
    looking for a further challenge.

    In all my successive rotations, it was
    the skills and abilities from my internal medicine rotation that I
    turned to first. Each rotation had something new to offer me, but it
    was against internal medicine that they were all measured.

    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle began his career
    in medicine, only later to utilize his talents in creating the worlds
    greatest detective. Interest in his stories helped to stoke my own
    interest in medicine as the ultimate mystery. A story is nothing more
    than a predefined beginning and end. With graduation, one chapter
    ends. But as for this character, many mysteries remain to be solved.

    So there you have it…i eagerly await your thoughts

    -Almost Dr J

Comments (3)

  • I like the literary allusions.  I’m quoting Joy Luck Club in mine.  :)

  • cool entry…you make medicine sound so fun. :-p well, it IS fun, if you take away the “other” side of it. Ever been in a bad mood in your med life? you’ve always been so upbeat.. 

  • i like it, but am way too tired to comment on it helpfully right now.  i will say that it’s different, and i like the angle you use, but at some points, it sounds almost a bit too casual. heck. i’d give you a residency =) then you could tell me what is going on with one of my patient’s now, where no one can find any source of a 24 WBC. =P

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *