November 20, 2008

  • Lemony Fresh Lady Parts

    My guilty pleasure is history. History and advertising.
    My two guilty pleasures are history and advertsing. and weird medical facts.
    My three guilty pleasures are history, advertising, medical facts. zombies probably figure in too somewhere.

    Ah fuggit. Lets just dispense with the story. My female readers might be interested too know (before they leave site forever) that Lysol, yes lysol was once widely considered to be effective birth control and the COMPANY ITSELF advocated douching with it after intercourse. They also advocated douching with it in general to keep one’s womanly parts “clean”

    It seems the peak of its popularity as a human disinfectant began in the 1920′s and lasted well into the 1940′s
    http://www.mum.org/lovequiz.jpg
    More of these ads located here http://www.mum.org/lysol34.htm

    Now I know medicine was weird back in the day, and rapid advances have been made in patient education, and concern for womens health took a backseat to aesthetics and making sure they kept popping out more little soldiers in the fight against communism, but at what point did somebody step back and think, “oh this chemical cleans floors so well, I think I’ll toss some in my vagina”

    Then again I see the connection between “lysol sterilizes floors” and “sterilized wombs have no babies”

    The best one of these ads has the memorable line

    Flush out your parts with this, or your husband won’t love you, and he won’t tell you why.

    Terrible. Horrible. and hilarious.

    In interview news, I went to one today and it went very well, very low stress, and all in all was just a nice relaxing day, getting a chance to schmooze with the residents. The weird thing about interviews is suddenly things start to seem real. I will actually be a doctor in a hospital come july and which hospital is entirely dependent on how these programs manage to sell themselves to me. It like stepping outside of myself and seeing part of me grow up.

    Only part though. Dont worry i will still endeavor to titillate you all with whatever random facts happen to cross my mind at any given moment. Usually something gross.

Comments (10)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *