September 19, 2010

  • Happy Talk Like A Pirate Day!

     

    In honor of this here talk like a pirate day, I thought I be telling you landlubbers a story about me latest scalliwag of a patient. Naught but 3 moons ago, I be having a man come visit me for scurvy. He also be mentioning that he wanted to quit smoking before it be sending him to davy jones locker. So I wrote him a shipoard pass for nicotine patches. He set out to sea and was told to follow up on his next leave. Earlier this week he be returning to me galley for a follow up. I asked him how his smoking be. 

    Pt: “Arrr, doc, i be thinking these nicotine patches you be giving me no have worked. I still be smoking and now me left eye be infected”

    DrJ: “Listen ye salty sea dog you- wait, what? Why would your eye be infected unless…?”

     

    That’s right me mates and lasses. This gentleman, like a true pirate, had been wearing his nictoine patch OVER HIS EYE for three months. And nobody had said anything about it to him. 

     

    While the accents may have been changed for today, the above story be totally true. Enjoy the rest of your talk like a pirate day!

     

    Yo ho, yo ho, a pirate’s life for me!

    We pillage, we plunder, we rifle, and loot,
    Drink up, me hearties, yo ho.
    We kidnap and ravage and don’t give a hoot,
    Drink up me hearties, yo ho.

    Yo ho, yo ho, a pirate’s life for me!

    We extort, we pilfer, we filch, and we sack,
    Drink up, me hearties, yo ho.
    Maraud and embezzle, and even hijack,
    Drink up, me hearties, yo ho.

    Yo ho, yo ho, a pirate’s life for me!

    We kindle and char, inflame and ignite,
    Drink up, me hearties, yo ho.
    We burn up the city, we’re really a fright,
    Drink up, me hearties, yo ho.

    We’re rascals, scoundrels, villains, and knaves,
    Drink up, me hearties, yo ho.
    We’re devils and black sheep, really bad eggs,
    Drink up, me hearties, yo ho.

    Yo ho, yo ho, a pirate’s life for me!

    We’re beggars and blighters, ne’er-do-well cads,
    Drink up, me hearties, yo ho.
    Aye, but we’re loved by our mommies and dads,
    Drink up, me hearties, yo ho

    Yo ho, yo ho, a pirate’s life for me!

    Aaargh! Happy Talk Like a Pirate day, mateys!

     

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *