September 30, 2010

  • Tattoo the Third

    Yes, I have once again added to my body art. The decision process went a lot faster this time. In the past I have taken anywhere from a 6 months to a year to decide on a design, and usually gotten it inked shortly after some milestone… or more specifically each time i passed a licensing exam, step 1 and step 2.

     

    The latest addition:

    The overall design is the caduceus, the winged staff of hermes, messenger of the gods. A symbol that is very often associated with the medical profession. So once again, I integrate the greek heritage with the medical, drawing this design together with my other two tattoos. However, doing the caduceus all in cooking implements adds another layer. rather than entwined snakes, a fork and spoon, grape leaves instead of wings and a chef hat and thermometer all serve to show my passion for cooking and food.

    So in summary…I am in medicine, and that training will always be part of me, but it is not my entirety. Look closer and you see my heritage, my hobbies, my interest in the arts. While my other tattoos remind me of where I came from, and where I want to be, this one is me in the now. It’s how I see myself, three in one, all coexisting.

     

    IMG_3789.jpg 
    My first tattoo, the amida buddha (compassion) and it’s story

    IMG_1331.JPG 

    My second tattoo zeus and the evil eye (faith) and its origin

    So I have three very permanent reminders of food, faith, compassion…my very own eat pray love

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *