March 27, 2011

  • Hot Beef Injection

    I’m counseling a clinic patient this afternoon about obesity and her high cholesterol, and as we’re talking she reaches into her purse…

    And pulls out a hot dog. Wrapped in foil, but still… a hot dog. And she unwraps it and starts eating. While we are talking. About her eating habits.
    I am literally dumbstruck. This does not happen often. I inform her that she can not have a hot dog in the middle of clinic. Doubly so while I am telling her to lose weight.

    “I didn’t get a chance to eat lunch.”

    That is entirely beside the point. you can eat before or after your appointment but not during.

    “I didn’t get the french fries. I’m trying.”

    There is a fundamental connection here being missed. I tell her again she will have to put it away, or throw it out.
    And then she stuffed the entire thing into her mouth, chewed it up, and swallowed.

    “You didn’t give me much of a choice.”

    Ah, clinic.

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *