March 17, 2004

  • Two more rejction letters. Three schools remaining. They have taken my dreams, my hopes, my future, my hat…no no, they can’t take THAT away from me.

    “Cue tune of Sinatra’s ‘They Can’t Take that away from me’”

    My applications will end on a sorrowful note
    for by April, acceptances are done
    the fat lady’s sung and she’s hit that high note
    but the blubbering has just begun
    Med schools may deny entrance, and most have, I guess
    and though I’m defeated, just one thing I’ll possess

    The time that I applied.
    my GPA was three
    Harder I should have tried,
    and so this year I won’t be an M.D.

    All my letters of rec
    my time at my UC
    not even in Quebec
    can i have a chance to earn that M.D.

    If I never, ever, gain entry in
    those vaulted halls of doc’s
    it will be because, because my academics sucked

    Though my MCAT’s were high
    and years I worked for free
    it was all just a lie
    they want grades to give you that M.D.

    no I’m never, never giving in
    If only just for spite
    for i know i know the board will slip up one night

    and then I will be in
    just wait and you will see
    my handsome evil grin
    no no they can’t take that way from me
    no they can’t take that away
    can’t keepthat away
    can’t keep that M.D. away from me

    Click Image to Enlarge

    -J

    ever wonder why doctors call what they do “practice?”

Comments (3)

  • and what is plan B?

  • That really sucks… hmmm… Does St. John’s have a medical school? That school accepts anyone willing to pay their crazy price. hehe… I’m sorry… I’m guessing that Brooklyn school didnt work out?

  • this is the first time I am not going to find and download the song from kazaa to find out the tune. In fact, I didn’t even read this post, cuz I’m going to bed… still pissed off about Singapore.  It looks like a dag gone commie flag.  Any way, I’ll come back to this post w/ the song playing on my laptop.  For now, your opening lines reminded me of the movie Equilibrium.

    But I being poor, have only my dreams and have spread them unto your feet.  Walk softly, Preston, for you tread on my dreams.  ~Keats [i think]

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *