June 2, 2008

  • Choose your own adventure

    No this post is not going to be about the 80′s book series, though it was by far one of the best books to read as a kid, right up there with R.L. Stine (who my brother met! it gives me GOOSEBUMPS just thinking about it)

    Instead, I am suffering at the moment from a bit of writer’s block. In the sense that while i derive a great deal of satisfaction from posting, i have had a lot of trouble sitting down and just writing freeform. And given that i need to start thinking about my personal statements, I have decided to play a few writing games with you folks in an attempt to get the creative juices flowing as well as spruce up my writing. So here is what we are going to do

    The point of the new blog overhaul was that most of my writing lately has been focused more on the medical training and education. So you all know what i think about the things I have gone through…but I have no clue anymore what questions, concerns, or wonders YOU have about the medical establishment. I am already too much a part of the machine, as it were.

    So for my next couple of posts, I would like you to leave questions or comments about the things YOU would like to know about the medical school experience. Maybe you want to know how i got interested in medicine, or what I hate about it. Maybe you are curious as to the general perception toward death in western medicine, or hospice care, or HMO structure. Maybe you wonder how doctors and students manage to find the humor in daily life despite seeing people at their worst, or about the patients who are so terrible that we reconsider medicine. I dont know, but if you can offer up a question, I WILL do a post about it. No excuses. I may try and squeeze several into one post if they relate, but this is an exercise for me in topical writing, so they will ALL be done.

    (gratuitous parenthetical phrase)

    I will leave this post up til the end of the week, unless commenting is sparse…then i may leave it up longer, pick a new game to get you involved, or just give up altogether…there is no way to know unless you play!

    So, here is your chance…everything you ever wanted to know about medical school, but were afraid to ask. A tell all expose by an average medical student. I look forward to it, and I hope you do too

    ***If any other medbloggers want to get in on this, I would be happy to host the discussion. I am looking your way grssh, futuredrjulie, and freakforjc. mostly because you are among the more active commentors on my site ***

Comments (17)

  • I didn’t read this post until just now, so I’m glad comments are still open.  I want to know…

    How do you adjust to such a messed up sleep schedule?
    How do you get through nights on call?
    What do you do in your “down time” at the hospital, if there is any?
    What is the best thing about being an almost-doctor?
    What are you most anxious about?

  • That play on words at the beginning was intense.

  • How realistic is Grey’s? lol I love that show.

  • Josh,

    I am a soldier I am trained to kill, it’s NEVER something I enjoy.  What we are fighting here is street thugs who enslave these people in this city with fear.  They shoot anyone they want to, they set bombs in the village squares.  I’ve seen the legs of inocent children blown off and heard the cry of the mothers holding their dead.  Don’t believe for one second the media it is just a bunch of lies.  I am here I am seeing this war first hand.  I am seeing us give food to the hungry and first aid even to the enemy.  I find it funny that the only time shops are open here is when we come to town.   I am a defender of the weak that is how I justify the killing.  I am friends with many of these people and they tell us when the bad guys come to town.  You know, you should move to Iraq too, I bet you would change your mind about soldiers in a hurry if you saw what really goes on here.  But that will never happen will it?  You’ll sit there in your self rightousness looking down your nose at everyone of us over here doing what we can in this God forsaken land to help.     

  • I’m on the path to medical school myself. Does being a medical student wreak havoc on your creative life?

  • How long do they leave the body of a person who died before they take it away (ie. the morgue or whatnot)?

  • Oooh – Choose Your Own Adventure and R. L. Stine books were the greatest!  You just brought back happy memories…

    Didn’t R. L. Stine’s other books take place in Shadyside?  I didn’t read Goosebumps but I read those other horror/murder books he wrote; they were awesome and scary.  I cheated when I would read Choose Your Own Adventure books.. I wouldn’t want to just die after picking the wrong fate, so I would bookmark all the spots so I could go back and see what would have been… Haha!

    Thanks for the props!   It was a good day! 

  • @Ironstove - i go to movies for much the same reasons…though i like a good chase scene or bank heist with my bad-assery and explosions

  • do you watch house? scrubs?

    do you understand what they are talking about>!?!

  • I never liked that indian dude’s movies. I go to movies to:

    A. Watch stuff blown up.
    B. Watch a spartan impale some lowly soldier who is clearly inferior and deserves his death.
    C. Watch epic explosions.

    I don’t pay $8 to watch some quazi-well thought out storyline play out. Especially if the director is some dude who loves to makes cameos of himself every frikkin movie just to show us why he’s a director and not an actor.

  • do doctors really write GTFO-”get the fuck out” as diagnosis? 

  • A few questions:

    1. (probably not too many people will be interested, but for my sake)  What are you using to study for Step 2?

    2.  What do you think about the relationship between nurses and doctors, nurses and medical students?  Have you had any problems?

    3.  What frustrates you the most about your chosen career?

    4.  What has surprised you most about medical school? 

    5.  Where would you see yourself in 10-15 years (private practice? ninja pirate? academic setting?)

    :0)

  • Did you really like goosebumps? Wow lol. It was such a terrible series.

  • hey, mind if i ask you several questions?- i’m kinda new in the medblogging stuff…. so do pardon my stupid questions and my english- english is my second language so i notice i’m pretty bad in that thing…

    Anyway….

    What drives you to become a doctor in the first place?…. and also… i’m curious about the process of the interview in the medical school what did they ask you… and what did you answer? how to make them impressed?

    And about the medical school… what are the most frustating things you have to endured in those years? and does all the efforts worth it in the end?

    Im currently a medical technlogy student and going to take my clinical years by next sem… ofcourse they do have this interview….and i know that its too early to think about the interview in the medschool…. but i’m just quite curious… mind if you do explain that to me? i really appreciate your answers…

  • I have two:

    1.  Why is it that we learn in school that doctors aren’t supposed to over prescribe antibiotics (because of resistance) but whenever I go to the doctors at the university, no matter what I have they always give me antibiotics? 

    2.  What are your views on privatized health care vs. universal health care (from your profile it seems that you’re from the states)?  Is privatized more efficient but allows the poor to suffer?  Or, is it justified in our capitalist world?

    Thanks!

  • what’s your opinion about all the medical dramas on TV, like ER and House and whatnot?

  • hello ! thx for recommending me thats my first one!

    what i am curious about is this – you know how you sometimes should let your body do the immune thing itself? maybe not eat medication? well how do you say to ppl take this? even though it means your immune ssystem make not work any better because this medication does all the work so your own system will not evolve?

    what principles do you have that go against what you have to do in the hospital?

    do you spend a lot of time talking to patients?

    that is all for now =D

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *