September 30, 2008

  • The Financial Ka Boom De Adda

    All right, I have a confession to make: I don’t understand economics at all.

    It’s
    one of those gaping holes in my understanding, like the intricacies of
    sports or which kind of car is which.* I just don’t quite grasp it. My
    mental image of the current crisis is a black hole suddenly blooming
    under Scrooge McDuck’s money bin, with all the cash in it inexorably
    draining away.** If you press me I can understand some of the big
    details (“We’re fucked”), but to me, some of the finer points of the
    analysis sound like so much glossolalia. (“Blah blah blah blah blah
    we’re fucked.”)

    **”Gee, Mr. McD, when I let Gyro build a Large Hadron Collider under your bin I never dreamed this would happen!”

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *