October 1, 2009

  • Malpractice Makes Perfect
  •  
    Had a 28 year old patient who refused to take his antibiotics because they made him nauseous. I offered nausea medication, he said no dice. I argued with him for a full 5 minutes and then just gave it a mental “fuck it.” i have better things to do than argue with people who dont want my help. Like selling spinal fluid to inner city kids


    www.marriedtothesea.com

    Then had another patient who refuses to get xrays because she has had “too many” this year and “the radiation is going to give me cancer, i saw it on the news”. Reason for the xray: to stage her (currently benign and operable) cancer

    Cyanide and Happiness, a daily webcomic
    Cyanide & Happiness @ Explosm.net

    It’s been a frustrating night and it’s still only beginning. Just 2 more weeks til wards, I keep reminding myself, just 2 more weeks.

Comments (1)

  • Love the spinal fluid joke! There was once a story about a girl who became paralized because they hit her spinal cord doing something like that (epidural before labor) Great post!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *