October 16, 2009

  • After these messages…

    So My first week on wards is finally complete, and I have to say, I like it. Sure, I work 12-13 hour days, but at even when i dont particularly like my patients, i still find them interesting. And for all my complaining about night float, it did a surprisingly good job of preparing me in developing my assessments and plans.

    And as usual, after checking over past entries, its amazing how much i have learned in a short time. We have a medical student on our team who is a 3rd year and just learning how to do histories and come up with assessments himself. Admittedly, when we got a late admission, i was a bit frustrated with how long he was taking, and I stepped in to finish the case, because, hey, I wanted to go home. I can now only imagine how irritating my pace must have been to my residents now that I am in that position. Nonetheless, I try to sit down and teach the med student when i can and provide the same sort of positive reinforcement that i was given, because hey ultimately that was a large part of what made medicine so attractive to me in the end.

    No new fascinating patient stories this week, but stay tuned, because much like myself, you never know whats coming up!

Comments (4)

  • 12-13 hour days?! and here i am complaining when i go on 10! i am not saving lives though so i don’t have an excuse :/

  • keep up the good work!

  • @queenofstyrofoamhearts - personally, I agree. I want to do gi, so liver and stomach disease for me. But sometimes it seemed like i just woke up one morning that way

  • You know, I was thinking to myself the other night – who the hell would want to be something like a Heart Surgeon? Highly dangerous, high possibility of the  patient dying at your hands  and the onus is on the medical prac. Like, do you just randomly wake up one day and be like, ” OH I think I’m gonna be a Heart Surgeon whoop!”

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *