December 24, 2009

  • A Holiday Realization

    Okay, I admit it.

    Much as I complained and whined about ccu, it has already made me a vastly better doctor in terms of my knowledge base and how confident I feel in dealing with patient medications. It happened so gradually I didnt even realize it.

    Not even one month ago I would make a note about medications I though should be changed and wait til I could bring it up in rounds phrased as a “maybe we should…what do you think?

    Now I am making changes as I see fit in the mornings, and present on rounds with here is what I have done in reaction to my findings. And if I erred (and sometimes I do, but less often than I was worried I might) I am corrected and learn something else from it. I am finally starting to stay ahead of my patient’s findings instead of always chasing after labs. I am beginning to learn to anticipate and develop my clinical judgement. Which is a nice holiday gift

    Which is good because I am working on both xmas and new years. But at least I am back on R service and have once again found my small joys. It makes a difference

    So xangaland…wishing you and yours a happy holiday season and a merry xmas full of all the small joys you can find. Hope they have added up to a great year!

    -Dr J.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *