April 26, 2010

  • Returning Memories-Tokyo Vacay day 1

    My first day in Tokyo was much less eventful than my plane flight over. Since it rained the whole day, making me a sad panda
    IMG_3257.JPG
    I decided to go to one of my favorite places in tokyo, the nakano broadway plaza where I added another $200 worth of toys to my collection. Here are some of the random places I stopped during the first day wandering through nakano, shinjuku, and shibuya
    IMG_3270.JPG
    Breakfast at Mister Donut!
    IMG_3275.JPG
    And what would donuts be without some coffee made from a wicked cool coffee machine. Of course, coffee acts as a laxative, so I made a quick potty stop, and found this helpful sign in the restroom
    IMG_3280.JPG
    Then, well fed and with a bag full of toys I walked off through the rain towards takashimaya times square and my favorite department store in tokyo, Tokyu Hands
    IMG_3273.JPG
    IMG_3279.JPG
    I love drinking alcohol out of glass footwear. Beer from Das Boot, and Midori from Das slipper.
    IMG_3281.JPG
    Crab People
    IMG_3282.JPG
    After that it was time for lunch, cupcakes and sake
    IMG_3288.JPG
    Why would I have sake in the afternoon…well let me give you five reasons
    IMG_3287.JPG
    I did it to refuse the future. This was somewhere around my 6 or 7th trip to Japan, and at least the 4 or 5th to tokyo, making the journey a strange mix of new experiences and deja vu. I would wander the streets and find alleyways I knew I had been down before, and pictures I had taken, such as the sake reasons above, and it would stimulate my memory, helping me to find the right series of alleyways to track down my favorite ramen-ya in kabukicho. Whose Name I still cant remember, but it’s three alleys up and one over from where I stumbled across that sign.
    IMG_3284.JPG
    IMG_3295.JPG
    Even though my language skills have fallen off somewhat, my comprehension remained surprisingly intact…so while I am sure I sounded like an idiot with several conversations, I still managed to get around and communicate well enough. After Chicago and Los Angeles, Tokyo is probably my 3rd best known city…I am fairly familiar with its neighborhoods and what lies therein.

    However in the interest of keeping posts short and readable, I will what I did in the evening for the next post. But hey look how good I did…the same day I came back I got all my pictures uploaded and even managed to knock out a post. That has got to be some kind of Josh record!

Comments (6)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *