August 26, 2008

  • Choose your own adventure 2

    Alright folks gearing up to post another personal statement on here for your perusal and constructive critcism. The first one was only made better each time for all of your input, and with that said, you may be wondering why I am writing another one

    well, that is because Ophthalmology (my first choice) is a fairly competitive field and in the event that I somehow dont match into it (knock on wood) I was advised to have a backup plan. My second choice field is internal medicine, and somehow I dont think the internal med people will look too kindly on my application if they read right off the bat that they are the silver medal. So in a couple days I will post up the first draft and I look forward to any input you all have to offer me until it is as polished as the former.

    That said, I have been suffering a bit of writers block lately, as you may have figured out from the recent string of comic related posts, so for those of you who dont feel like helping me with my personal statement (or even those of you who do) we are bringing back another fun game

    EVERYTHING YOU WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT MEDICINE/MEDICAL SCHOOL but were afraid to ask

    rules of the game are same as before-simply submit your comment about anything you may have wondered about the med school experience, and I will do my best to answer your query in a post. Last time i think i had only one unsatisfied customer, and that was because the question was excellently phrased but sadly beyond the scope of the experience I have as a 4th year student.

    So wondering what is a 4th year students biggest fear? best memory? worst patient? best day? Anythign you can think to ask about any of the 4 years of med school, shoot, and lets see where it takes us

    The floor is open to questions for 1 week until 11:59pm PST september 1st. Which incidentally is the first day med students can begin submitting their residency applications through ERAS.

    And while I normally try to earn recommends, I respectfully ask that you rec this post to provide a larger audience from which to draw questions. Bonus points if we can get any xangalebrities involved.

    a link to the previous episode-scroll down to the comments section to see what people asked, and check backlogs after that to see what i answered.

    Ready? Set? Go.

    -Almost Dr J

Comments (16)

  • @CaKaLusa - yeah well, they cant all be winners…looks like no one really wonders about med school anymore *shrugs*

  • this can not end well!

  • Hey, we’re actually the same age! It seems there are a lot of high school age xanga users…

  • and why the hell do so many people have these cartoon people as their default??! where are they getting them from?!

  • World War Z was recommended to me but I haven’t gotten around to it.
    I’ll be on the look out for your post.

  • How frustrating does the endless cycle of rotations get? I have a friend who went through medical school, and he got really boring and quiet by the time he finished. He’s more interesting now, though.

  • @Dare2BDiferentt - no worries, i did not view it as being rude, but i did tag you for the reason elbowpasta suggested, since you are on my friend list and i figured the most likely ones to respond to the game. If you would prefer not to be tagged in future posts, just let me know about it.
    @angelinarose1 - i do not grok your question
    @punkofzombie - actually the numbing, not the dilating drops turn your lashes yellow. I will do a longer post in the future about the eyelid tattoo thing, and zombie-wise, have you read monster island or world war z? (I am a HUGE zombie fan)

  • @ELBOWpasta - I’m not being rude,  I was just wondering,  because people have gotten very mad at me in the past for tagging them if the post didn’t invlovle them(but this one did in a way).  I was just curious;  you don’t have to get mad at me.

  • EVERYTHING YOU WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT MEDICINE/MEDICAL SCHOOL but were afraid to ask what this totally means?

  • Ophthalmology is most interesting, especially since corrective laser surgery came out. It’s useful for other things, of course, but the progress made by the use of Lasic is unbelievable. The only thing I don’t like are the dilating drops. They turn your eyelashes yellow, and you see yellow for a few moments, which is fun, but they sting badly.
    What is the effect of having your eyelids tattooed, if any?
    Regarding your question about my username… I like zombies. Or anything that should be dead but isn’t. And I like punks. I always thought zombies to be an element of the punk culture, perhaps because of The Misfits.

  • @ELBOWpasta - i will still do a longer post, but a short fast response-it WILL be a dominating part of his life, but that doesnt mean you dont have time for things outside of med school. More on that later

  • @Dare2BDiferentt - What if he just wanted you to read it, since you’re on his friends list? You don’t need to be rude about it. If you don’t get it, you aren’t obligated to comment…

    My question is long and intense; I’m sorry, it needs background.

    My boyfriend has been on the path to med school and doctor-dom since I was born. He knows it, his parents know it, and I knew it about the time I met him. He seems to think it won’t take up every moment of his life, and that school, internship, and residency won’t be overwhelming, and that he will still have time for silly things like relationships, and potential weddings after med school.

    I’m not trying to plan my life around this, I just want to know…

    (If we make it that far…!) can I realistically expect to see him any, at all?

    He says it won’t be a problem, and that it won’t be a dominating part of his life, and that it will be almost like continuing any other type of schooling, but Grey’s Anatomy tells me differently.

    Also- have you ever been involved in wild, raunchy sex in the on-call room? Blame the Grey’s Anatomy… hehe

  • Okay here’s my question:  What’s the most awkward thing that’s ever happened to you involving your work?

    @theblackspiderman - Wait,  I am?

  • @Dare2BDiferentt - You’re a xangalebrity-lite.

    Alright, here’s a question. Do you wear your scrubs outside of work – and if so, does it aid in picking up women?

  • Aaaaaaaaaaamd what does this have to do with me?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *