January 3, 2010

  • Following my Hiatus

    SO this is my first post of the new year, and my first attempt to keep up with the resolutions i made, most importantly the return to at least weekly posting. It may take a while for me to get back into the habit of writing things that you guys want to read, so bear with me and fire away with any criticism, constructive or otherwise…no such thing as bad publicity, right?

    I am post call today. I was lucky enough to only work a half day on New Years, but then drew the short straw of being on call on january 2nd. Why is this such a bad thing?
    marriedtothesea.com
    marriedtothesea.com

    Because just like the above comic demonstrates, people tend to put off their health problems during the holidays because they want to spend time with their loved ones. Which if you have a cold or some indigestion, or even a mild copd exacerbation is not a problem. But people with heart failure, broken bones, and chest pain, as well as asthma exacerbations also tend to ignore their problems. Compliance with everything slips during the holidays
    marriedtothesea.com
    marriedtothesea.com

    Now with one or two people coming in sick, it would be one thing. But everyone and their mother decided that this was the day they would get all their issues taken care of. On an average overnight call, I admit 3-5 pts, 6 on a busy night. Last night I admitted 10. Me personally, to say nothing of how many the rest of my team, plus the two moonlighters, plus the covering intern all admitted.

    Got some very interesting patients overnight, and I have finally managed to get my speech about code status down to the point where people seem to understand that DO NOT RESUCITATE does not mean DO NOT TREAT. Other than that, I am still working on my hepatitis c research projects, with my next deadline by the 22nd to finish the chart review, and studying for the last phase of my licensing exam.

    Oh yes, and I have finally achieved one of the classic doctor hallmarks in that I am (at least for the moment) dating a nurse. It really does happen, and it basically means two people who can never coordinate their schedules to get together outside the hospital, but when they do, they have a fascinating conversation about…you guessed it…work stuff. And 80′s pop culture, because that’s how I roll.

    So until next post guys, hope you all had a great new years!

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *